11 week old starting to look like a Schnauzer....

The Standard Schnauzer is a working or utility dog and is the original breed of the three sizes. Standard Schnauzers are generally a robust, squarely built, medium-sized dog with aristocratic bearings.
Forum rules
Please feel free to post here if your topic does not fit into one of the categories under 'Caring for your Schnauzer'. There are sections for breeding, feeding, grooming, showing and many more that may be more appropriate than this generic section
Gehlsurf
Puppy
First Name: Matthew

11 week old starting to look like a Schnauzer....

Post by Gehlsurf »

Hi guys,

I'm gonna post this with pics, and more so for new Schnauzer owners. Many questions about when to start grooming, what they look like, etc. Since they're only this age for a short period, this is more so for Google algorithm searchers, so to speak, for new owners..... I am by no means a professional, hell, youngest dog before him I've ever had was a year old, and I either owned short haired dogs or used clippers. So this is newb to newb stuff here, it's easier than you think.

For the record, Schluter is a Standard, and 11 weeks old now. Only thing I have been doing is stripping him with a stone. I've never stripped a dog, but it seems to be bringing out his colors and keeping his hair wire like and short to the body. Been stripping legs, too, why? Cause I'm that guy, lol. I started I stripping 2 weeks ago, when he was 9 weeks old. I didn't start off dedicating much time, still don't. Maybe 20 minutes weekly, trying that rolling coat deal, we'll see as time passes, lol. His face hadn't changed much up to this morning, just nose looked more like a big pipe cleaner, lol, just longer than this pic. Here he is at 8 weeks old.