Molly

Pictures of all our other pet family or friends and help and advice on photographing our Schnauzers.
Molly

Post by Molly »

Great idea!! :)

Some of you may have noticed already that I'm a keen photographer! :lol:

All of my photos of Molly are taken using a Canon DSLR and hopefully I can help out others on the forum keen to get shots of all our wonderful subjects! :D

An unusual one of Molly to open things:

Taken with a Canon EOS 20D

Ric
( My other identity on a well-known photography website ... www.pbase.com/rjyates )
Eddie
First Name: Graham

Post by Eddie »

That's an effective photo. You have limited the "depth of field" by using a low (??) f number and compensated for the extra light by using a faster shutter. Am I close?
Perhaps you may care to comment on the photo below. It was a Canon Ixus 65 which was set to "Auto", we were in a forest which meant the light was low so the shutter speed would have been slow. Hence the blurring. I guess I should have increased the ISO setting so that I could use a faster shutter to freeze the action.
From a composition point of view it probably would have been better not to have Judie in the background.
Edit: It's interesting but I have just noticed that the RHS seems to be more in focus than the LHS.
Molly

Post by Molly »

For the photo of Molly pretty much spot on. f3.2 and 1/160 sec at 200 iso. Also taken at a reasonably long focal length (110mm) which also compresses the depth of field. I didn't need too fast an ISO for the shot as Molly was still (unusual!). :)

For your shot you are also on the right lines, you needed a faster shutter speed to freeze the action and in low light you'd need to increase the ISO setting to give the camera a chance.